Project Mawashi

The Way of Karate

Bassai-Dai: The secret to effective application?

Leave a comment

Have you ever wondered about what makes a good application? Ever felt that your applications just aren’t working? Maybe, there is something that no ones been telling you? Relax, you needn’t worry; you just need to add an extra not so secret ingredient!

I believe that the effectiveness of a particular technique is very much dependent on timing. If you time a technique well, it is substantially more likely to work. When you examine the kumite of any good martial artist you will find that their timing is bang on. Good timing is good tactics and will allow techniques against even the strongest opponent. Effective application of kata is no different. Good tactics (timing) means effective application.  There is no big secret to this, yet how often is this quite basic facet of good kumite actually used or even taught in kata application?

The following is an analysis of timing within the application of Bassai-Dai.

Below is a traditional technique for Bassai-Dai. Sensei Dan has responded to my arm grab by applying a very expertly painful lock on my wrist. From a timing perspective he always does this immediately, he’s not going to wait for the situation to become more complicated. He applies the technique when has a good chance of success, not after.

singlegrab

Sensei Dan is grabbed.

hislock

No hesitation – good timing!

He applies the technique when it has a good chance of success, not after.

However, we do need to consider the possibility that our initial opportunity has been lost – what then? Let’s assume the situation has become more complicated, in the picture below Sensei Dan has now grabbed me by both hands and is pulling me off balance. If I were to now go for the traditional wristlock it would surely fail (at least with my skill level). It would be bad tactics to directly go for a wristlock.

doublehand

Caught! Off balance and missed my chance.

Thankfully, Bassai-Dai does provide applications to deal with this problem. In the picture below I have recaptured my right hand by grabbing it with with my left (aka the salutation of Bassai-Dai), I’ve then driven forward with the morote uke to regain by balance and reposition Sensei Dan’s wrist. I now have the opportunity to apply a wristlock of my own.

pushBass

Drive forward after recapturing your hand.

MylockBASS

Step back and lock his wrist.

The bottom line is this: If you want to apply kata effectively, you need to think tactically, as if you’re doing kumite. Good tactics are the secret to good application!

Thank you to Dan and Joe for helping out!

Leave a comment